The 2019 Pacific Language Weeks

The 2019 Pacific Language Weeks

Date
Jul
17
20190717

The 2019 Pacific Language Weeks: an effort to maintain and

promote heritage languages

Starting in Samoa in 2007, the Pacific Language Weeks have gained popularity celebrating,  promoting and raising awareness of seven of the Pacific Languages.

Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, announced the dates of the seven Pacific Language Weeks early this year to encourage organisations to start planning and get involved.

"It’s a concern voiced by young and old alike. Our languages are a key part of our individual and community wellbeing. We thrive when we hear our own stories, in our own languages, from our own people."

He also encouraged the promotion of our languages “not just amongst Pacific communities but more widely. They need to be recognised and valued in our schools and workplaces, in all walks of life", to reverse the declining use of Pacific Languages.

NZTC International has a rich history of translating to and from all Pacific Islands languages and offers full language services including translations to and from Samoan, Tongan, Fijian, Cook Islands Māori, Tokelauan, Niuean, Kiribati, Tuvaluan and Hawaiian.

New Zealand’s location as a ‘Gateway to the Pacific’ signifies a major influence from the cultures and communities of many of the Pacific nations. Most importantly, what this means for our clients and industry colleagues is that NZTC continues to offer an unrivalled base of local or target-market cultural knowledge and other important communicative nuances, invaluable for effective communication with the Pasifika communities within New Zealand and in the markets of each of these Pacific Island nations.

In Aotearoa New Zealand, these are the offical Pacific Language Weeks, all running for at   least one month and in some cases offering activities throughout the year. The dates for 2019 are:

Samoa Language Week: Sunday 26 May – Saturday 1 June 2019

Cook Islands Language Week: Sunday 4 August – Saturday 10 August 2019

Tonga Language Week: Sunday 1 September – Saturday 7 September 2019

Tuvalu Language Week: Sunday 29 September – Saturday 5 October 2019

Fiji Language Week: Sunday 6 October – Saturday 12 October 2019

Niue Language Week: Sunday 13 October – Saturday 19 October 2019

Tokelau Language Week: Sunday 27 October – Saturday 2 November 2019

“I hope making the dates of these language weeks available early will encourage more groups and organisations to get involved in the promotion of the Pacific Language Weeks this year,” says Aupito William Sio.